Westfield Staff Members Recognized with FCPS Excellence Awards

By Department of Human Resources
October 18, 2018
programs from the event
Programs at the 2018 Excellence Awards.

Congratulations to the Westfield Cares Team of Randy Allen, Tabatha Bragg, Francis Carragher, Amanda Dorr, James Hepler, Monica Kim, Kevin Mahan, Scott Thimons, Ellyn Whiteash who were recognized at the annual FCPS Excellence Awards Ceremony in the "Impact on Others" Category.

principal copeland and assistant principal simmons
Assistant Principal Justin Simmons (left) and Principal Tony Copeland arrived early to celebrate the Westfield Cares Team.

The FCPS Excellence event was held at Fairfax High School on October 16 and was attended by Superintendent Dr. Scott Brabrand, members of the FCPS Leadership Team, members of the FCPS School Board, and other distinguished guests, including Westfield Principal Tony Copeland and Westfield Assistant Principal Justin Simmons. Our staff members were recognized for their contributions during an informal reception and a formal ceremony. The following excerpt from their nomination packet was read while each member of the team received their certificate.

The Westfield Cares team planned and coordinated, in conjunction with the Dulles Regional Chamber of Commerce and Westfields Marriott, a number of events designed to educate and provide support to Westfield HS students about mental health and the dangers of substance abuse. The kickoff to this program is the Westfield Cares presentation held at the Westfields Marriott. Approximately 400 Westfield HS students, 44 table leaders, and local professionals in the fields of mental health and substance abuse learn and share to empower action in our school and community. The Westfield Cares team connects students who either identify as being at-risk or report others as being at-risk to school counselors and/or social workers. Westfield Cares is the manifestation of our school motto: "Each One, Reach One, Teach One."

Thank you, Mr. Allen, Ms. Bragg, Mr. Carragher, Ms. Dorr, Mr. Hepler, Ms. Kim, Mr. Mahan, Mr. Thimons, and Ms. Whiteash for your contributions to Westfield High School

Thank you as well to Principal Anthony Copeland for taking the time and effort in writing the nomination packet for this award.